Change of plans

Well, I took pictures all day yesterday with the intention of doing a big evening post, but then I ended up going away overnight and leaving my camera at home!

I threw together a nice vegetarian pasta for lunch yesterday. I stir-fried some broccoli and mushrooms with a bit of ginger and jalapeƱos, cooked some whole wheat pasta and tied it all together with a splash of vegetable broth. To me this is a great summer pasta, nice and fresh tasting.

Later in the afternoon, I cut up a mango that was seriously calling my name from the refrigerator :mrgreen: It was juicy and delicious as usual!

This is where it all falls apart. As I said, I went away overnight at the last minute to take advantage of my last weekend before I start work tomorrow. The trip started with a trip to the local indian restaurant. This was my first experience with real Indian food (ie not cooked by me) and I have to say that I really enjoyed it! I don’t remember exactly what we got, but we started with some samosas, followed by two meat dishes (both of which I can’t remember what they were) served with some basmatti rice and naan. Oh man, this stuff is amazing… I’ve been missing out :mrgreen: I definitely want to try google-ing the restaurant to figure out what I ate so that I can try to re-create it!

This morning, I just had a quick and easy breakfast – peanut butter toast. Okay, I’ll admit it, I slept through breakfast again… this was actually my lunch. I also had a chocolate chip cookie on my way out the door :oops:

Dinner was another stir fry cooked by my boyfriend :D This included ham, green peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots and rice. Again, no photo – I was too hungry to go in search of batteries for my camera. I’m not a very good blogger lately, am I? All I can say is that it was super yummy multiplied by a thousand because it was cooked for me!

Tomorrow is my first day of work and I’m a bit nervous because I honestly don’t know what to expect. I am excited too though, so all is good. I will probably have a busy morning though, so I’ll just tell you my breakfast plans tonight: toast and peanut butter with a banana if my mom doesn’t get to it first… I think she packed it in her lunch though, so I may have to settle for another fruit.

Here’s my packed lunch:

A ham sandwich on a large ciabatta bun (on the bottom right), the vegetable fillings to go on the sandwich when it’s time (on the top in the bag) and some carrots. In the veggie bag are tomatoes, pickle slices, cucumber slices and lettuce. Here’s the sandwich from up close:

See you tomorrow night!

3 Responses to Change of plans

  1. Romina says:

    Ooh, your indian restaurant experience sounds yummy! Sorry you didn’t get any pics.

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Mmm, a summer pasta dish and mango – divine!!

    The Indian restaurant sounds fabulous!!

    Good luck with your first day of work!!

  3. hk says:

    yum, indain!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

